The Story Begins

If you would have told me when I was 14 or 15 years old that I would spend a birthday with Motley Crue, I never would have believed it. And I hate to think of what I might have sold to score that day. But today it happened. The day started off with two beautiful handmade birthday cards from my daughters and after that, a Flying-V guitar was delivered to my door. Then it was off to shoot The Crue as they kicked off Cruefest, 2008. The live shot is the official kickoff photo that I shot for Cruefest. I photographed the other photo as the band took their last breaths just before being bombared by a tidal wave of press.

5 Responses to “The Story Begins”

  1. Kevin,
    Great blog page! Glad to hear you spent your birthday w/ Crue. Wow! That’s a great way to start a new year! Just did a great 3-way conversation/interview w/ Joel McIver and Doug Goodman about SLAYER – and it came out great! Much like the early Metallica podcast Doug and I shared some great stories of the early days of the band. The podcast should be posted the first of June to coincide w/ Joel’s book release. I’ll definitely hit you up next time I’m in LA!
    All the best,
    bob

  2. Bob bathke Says:

    Very nice blog. Nice pics of the band.

  3. Andy Tuba Says:

    Kevin,
    LOVE the page. Top-notch. Because I attended some of these same shows with you the word nostalgia dosen’t seem to cut it. As a young teen, your music collection was shocking. Who, I ask you, at 13 has that many BOOTLEG live recordings.? Or a Van Halen ” Fair Warning” poster that was bigger than the wall itself. And, of course your pictures were an early idicator of the many more to come. One of the reasons I wanted to start a band with you was because I knew you were going to make it in the music business one way or another. And you have. Plus, nobody I knew was as into as you were. Keep the treasure trove of photos, old and new, coming. Congratulations!

    Best,

    TUBA

  4. Dirt Junior Says:

    awesome site Kevin!!! YOur pics crush!You are the man. I look up to you for advice! Thanks for being a friend as well!!!

  5. Leo Cordasco Says:

    Hey Kev,

    This is awesome! You are a true master of your craft. It is unbelievable that you still have the Iron Maiden stub. You guys went to all four shows, I was only able to go to one of them with you guys. Like Tuba said “the word nostalgia doesn’t seem to cut it.” Ah, the memories of our youth!
    You keep up the good work buddy, and you, me, and Tuba need to get together soon. Congrats! on the new blog.

    Ciao,
    Leo

Leave a Reply

