In The Beginning…

Judas Priest – Long Beach Arena : November 21, 1982

One thing that seems to surprise people is the fact that I started shooting rock bands when I was a young teen. So this is for the old school fans…a look into my early roots. I am sure this will be the first in a series. This shot is from one of my all-time favorite concerts. I will never forget the way the arena exploded when the band opened with Electric Eye. Rob Halford stood raised above the drum riser – laser lights shooting recklessly. There was such a mad energy from the crowd that night. I remember thinking to myself, Heavy Metal music is about to explode. I am proud to say that I was right.

Photographed from my seat with my trusty, smuggled in Canon AE-1, an 80mm-300mm zoom lens with a 2x tele-converter attached.

2 Responses to “In The Beginning…”

  1. There is no doubt about that Judas Priest\Screaming for Vengeance made jump from Rock and Roll to Heavy Metal.

  2. Hey, I jumped on stage that night after the “Hell Bent For Leather” encore, are you the photographer that told me when to jump on stage? Do you have any photos? That night was my “jump” into heavy metal…

Leave a Reply

