Scream For Me…

Iron Maiden – Long Beach Arena : March 16, 1985

I heard the news, big news – Maiden is playing 4 nights at Long Beach Arena. I knew I had to go! Then I heard more news, bigger news – Maiden is filming all 4 shows for their first ever live home video. I knew I had to go all 4 nights! I smuggled my camera into 2 of the shows. One night I managed to scoot by security and found myself crushed up against the stage. I tried my best to snap as many shots as I could, but because I am not the tallest guy in the world, I was pressed up against peoples’ armpits and backs, not to mention my face was slammed up against my camera. The lack of oxygen soon got to me and I passed out in the arena. I awoke and found myself lying on my back in the main lobby of the arena with two paramedics hovering over me, giving me oxygen. Terrified that I had lost my camera, I patted myself down and discovered that somehow, just before I passed out, I was smart enough to shove my camera and lens into my pants. As soon as the paramedics allowed me to leave, I rushed back into the arena to shoot more. This was the last photo I shot just before I passed out.

Photographed while gasping for air with my trusty, smuggled in Canon AE-1 and an 80mm-300mm zoom lens.

4 Responses to “Scream For Me…”

  1. you are soooo cool for putting up this website. Thank-you so much. You are now my official hero!!!

  2. Hello 🙂
    Pour tous les fans du groupe Iron Maiden ou de rock en gĂ©nĂ©ral, j’ai dĂ©couvert rĂ©cemment une boutique dans le centre ville de Cernay dans le Haut-Rhin en Alsace, qui propose divers articles originaux sur le thème du rock et, entre autre de ce groupe. La boutique a Ă©galement mis en place un site internet afin de dĂ©couvrir et acheter les produits prĂ©sent dans le magasin tranquillement de chez soi…
    Allez faire un tour il est sympa 🙂
    http://www.rockinstore.fr

  3. How many people where at the Long Beach Arena for those concerts?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

