Amazing Screams…Chris Cornell

Chris Cornell
Soundgarden
Whisky-A-Go-Go
Hollywood, Ca
December 7, 1989

blog_buy_button

(This photo and many others now available for sale.  Email: IamKevin@fairwarning.com)

Part two of a five part series I am doing this week that captures Amazing Screams. Each day I will add a new photo of a featured artist and their classic scream.

Soundgarden was just starting to blow up around this time. They had a wild stage show, lead by front man Chris Cornell who frequently leapt off the stage to join the crowd, tackled other members of the band, and launch into one of the all-time great screams in rock&roll. The word grunge hadn’t really emerged yet. People didn’t know how to classify Soundgarden. Were they metal? Alternative? Or something totally different? The biggest part of their sound was Cornell’s ability to launch into these melodic, piercing screams. Instead of your typical cock rock, hair metal screaming, he had a unique kind of scream. It was melodic yet heavy, and he could wickedly scream through a word, adding emotional intensity and depth as opposed to just raw volume. My favorite Cornell screams from this era are in Far Beyond the Wheel, Loud Love, Hands All Over and Head Injury.

This is the show they filmed for the Louder Than Live video. One personal highlight: At this concert, I was crowd surfing and I did this roll forward, and ended up on stage, looking Chris right in the eye. So I did a back dive off the stage, but at the same time this fatso guy also dove off the stage. When he jumped off the stage, the crowd parted like the Red Sea, and no one caught me. I landed right on the back of my head. I stumbled off to the side, dazed. When I put my hand back to check it, it was covered in blood. Those were the days.

Photographed with my old Canon F1 and a cheap. No name 28mm-80mm f 5.6 lens.


3 Responses to “Amazing Screams…Chris Cornell”

  1. Thanks for the great memories and pics! Cornell continues to be a one-of-a-kind screamer.

  2. Drew Morris Says:

    Chris is a wonderful vocalist-and wicked screamer as well!

  3. He’s one of the best and definitely had a huge part in molding my musical tastes growing up. And in my mind, SoundGarden could do no wrong!

Leave a Reply

