Red Hot Frilly Peppers

The Red Hot Chili Peppers
Raleigh Studios : Hollywood, CA
December 18, 2006

I was hired to work with the Chili Peppers as they shot the music video for Dani California. During this two-day shoot, I was asked to be a fly on the wall and try to capture every special moment. Whether it is a video shoot, in the recording studio, or on the road – these are my favorite kinds of shoots – I love capturing those timeless images.

This video was a very elaborate undertaking. Director Tony Kaye, known for his feature film American History X, wanted to take the band through the history of music. From a 1950’s Ed Sullivan style setup, to the late 60’s drug-induced movement, to the flamboyant disco era to the glam rock era, to the1970’s Punk Rock scene, to the early 80’s post-punk Goth scene, to mid-80’s Hair-Metal, to the Grunge Movement and back to the Chile Peppers as we know them – the band wanted me to capture it all.

I must have shot at least 4000 images over those two days. I really captured more than I thought possible. In fact, the record label and RHCP management were overwhelmed at how many photos I shot and turned in. The band really had fun with this video and really got into character. I never knew what to expect from these guys when they popped on a new wig and new outfits. These guys are pros and they are the coolest and most professional people you would want to work with.

For some reason these were the outfits that the band seemed the most comfortable in and I didn’t think they were ever going to take them off. The mustaches that Flea and Chad are sporting were hilarious…Flee looks like some cheesy Phys Ed teacher from the 70’s. Check out Anthony, he looks like some suave, artsy Puerto Rican or Carlos Santana’s little brother. And take a look at John Frusciante, I would not want him hanging around any minors dressed like that.

Time was super-tight, but I knew that the band would want to have a memory of this, so I grabbed each of them and popped this shot off. Just then, it was time to switch outfits. I really like this photo alot – itt just says so much – I think it will become more and more special as time goes on.

Photographed with my Canon EOS-5D and a Canon 24mm-70mm lens.

One Response to “Red Hot Frilly Peppers”

  1. Andy Tuba Says:

    Awesome pic. Timeless. Love the guitar!

Leave a Reply

