Hang Your Head – The R.I.P. Series

Kevin Dubrow
Quiet Riot

Date Of Death: November 19, 2007
Cause Of Death: Accidental Cocaine Overdose

Like a lot of Metal Kids my age, my interest in Quiet Riot stemmed from my fondness and appreciation of guitar god Randy Rhoads. It is no secret that Rhoads fame and, unfortunately his death, brought many fans to the new Quiet Riot camp.

I was never a huge Quiet Riot fan, although I did see them a handful of times during their ’83-’84 Metal Health Tour. Depending on whom you talked to, Kevin Dubrow was either a fantastic front-man or one of, if not THE, most annoying man in rock at the time. I was team captain on the “annoying” team. His feud with Van Halen’s David Lee Roth stands out in my mind…it was some silly Junior High type stuff.

I met Dubrow a couple of times, and as annoying as he was on stage, he was one of the nicest guys and coolest guys I have met. He was surprisingly soft-spoken and listened to me when we spoke – which really blew my mind.

Photographed with my old Canon AE1 Program and a cheap, no name 70mm-210mm f 5.6 lens. Shot on Kodak Ektachrome film.

One Response to “Hang Your Head – The R.I.P. Series”

  1. quiet riot ruled! I remember whn mental health came out.
    ahhahah!!!

Leave a Reply

