No More Tears – The R.I.P. Series

Randy Castillo
Ozzy Osbourne Band
Motley Crue

Date Of Death: March 26, 2002
Cause Of Death: Cancer

It was on Ozzy Osbourne’s No Rest For The Wicked Tour that I first really noticed the greatness in Randy Castillo’s drumming. I am not a drummer or an drum critic by any means, but what I gathered was that Randy was not the greatest at copying parts that other drummers wrote, he was great at being himself and creating his own feel.

Castillo was plagued with serious ailments that forced the drummer to pop in and out of tours during his career. Just before he was set to tour with Motley Crue in support of New Tattoo, he was diagnosed with an extremely serious ulcer that had ruptured his stomach. While recovering from his surgery, Castillo found a small lump on his jaw. Within a month, the lump had grown to the size of a golf ball. The diagnosis was a common form of skin cancer. A few months later this monster got the best of him.

I was fortunate enough to have hung out with Randy just prior to his passing one night at The House Of Blues in Los Angeles. Mike Inez of Alice In Chains introduced me to Randy and they excitedly told me about a new band that they were working on together. Inez had always told me that Randy and I would get along great…and he was right. The moment Randy found out that my father also grew up in Albuquerque, New Mexico we were instant pals. Shortly after that the Rock World was reading his obituary.

Photographed with my old Canon AE1 Program and a cheap, no name 70mm-210mm f 5.6 lens. Shot on Kodak Ektachrome film.

Leave a Reply

