Vote With A Bullet – The ‘Off The Clock’ Series

estrada_Blog_COC_AIC

Pepper Keenan (C.O.C.) & Layne Staley (Alice In Chains)
Cathouse : Hollywood, CA
March 1991

Corrosion Of Conformity had just released the Blind CD and the band had boldly taken a huge leap in both their sound and in their new lineup.  Although the band was now moving from their hardcore/punk roots to more of a true metal sound, they became more politically involved than they had ever been before.  The band spearheaded the new CD with the controversial single, Vote With A Bullet.

The band wanted more, they wanted to really spread the word and increase voter turnout.  Sounds like  a good excuse to have a party!  I was lucky enough to get invited to tag along with the band and some of their good pals in the rock world as they joined forces with the Rock The Vote Organization at The World Famous Cathouse in Hollywood.  It was a great night!  There were so many rock giants there that I will have to post a few photos in the upcoming weeks to really show all who was there.

I thought I would start with this photo first as it holds a great memory for me.  Earlier that evening, Layne from Alice In Chains had challenged me to a “friendly” game of pool.  Luck was on my side and I beat him pretty badly.  The rest of the night he was giving me a hard time, asking for a rematch, but I didn’t have the time as I needed to snap photos.  He must have thrown the finger at me 20 times that night and threw me some of the funniest “dirty” looks possible.  Here he is sticking his tongue out at me trying to stir me up…and to top it off, Pepper is giving me the finger in support of Layne….good times!  R.I.P Layne.

Photographed with my Canon EOS-1, a cheap, no name 24mm-70mm lens, and a Sunpak 100 flash. Shot on Kodak Ektachrome film.

3 Responses to “Vote With A Bullet – The ‘Off The Clock’ Series”

  1. jubakala Says:

    I really like Alice in Chains and the new singer as well although he’s not so good as Layne was. And it was great that they finally released a new album last year! (:

    Regards,

    Alice in Chains discography Guy

  2. I think that is a great story=) Rip Layne ~ its always good to read a funny story like this=)♥

Leave a Reply

