Dio’s Final Farewell

Ronnie James Dio

Hall Of Liberty : Forest Lawn

Hollywood Hills

May 30, 2010

Since 1983, Memorial Day Weekend held a special place in my heart when it came to Heavy Metal Music.  It was on May 29, 1983 that I attended Heavy Metal Day at the US Festival in Devore, California.  300,000 dedicated metal fans came out that weekend to support what was important – Metal.  Once again, Memorial Day Weekend holds a new place in my heart when it comes to Metal Music.  Yesterday, May 30, 2010, thousands of dedicated metal fans came out to support what was important – the life of Ronnie James Dio.

I was one of the lucky ones that was able to attend and take part in this special farewell to one of the founding fathers of Metal.  I was privileged to be able to document the entire Memorial Ceremony – the load-ins, the soundchecks, the arrivals, the fans, the music, the memories, and the tears.

It was a touching and tasteful service, led by Eddie Trunk.  Ronnie’s life and musical talents were broken down and chronicled era by era, section by section, accompanied by live musical performances, video clips, and friends.  Three and half hours was not nearly long enough to display the gifts and love that Ronnie gave to all of us throughout his life.

I hope you enjoy my slideshow…it is my gift to all of you.  I am and always will be a fan and I am blessed to be able to make my living doing what I love.  Rest In Peace Ronnie, your impact in music and your huge warm heart will never be forgotten.

P.S.  Thanks Rob, for being by my side on both of these special Memorial Day Weekends!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

18 Responses to “Dio’s Final Farewell”

  1. This made me cry. Thank you for sharing!!!

  2. Love you father ! from all your Persian True Fans \m/

  3. There are only 2 singers i admired the most in this world. Ronnie was one of them, Elvis presley was the other. I followed Ronnie’s musical career right to the end. I have many of his songs right through his career. I only saw him unfortunately once in concert and that was with the Sacred Heart Tour i believe. He had a voice like no other and he put his heart and soul into every song he ever did. He will be sadly missed but i know he is in heaven singing with a choir of angels and all the rock Gods backing him up including his former band mate from Rainbow Cozy Powell. Rest in peace Dear Ronnie. LONG LIVE ROCK ‘N’ ROLL TILL WE MEET AGAIN

  4. Kevin,

    Thank you for such a wonderful gift. I am very sad that I was unable able to go to his memorial. He was my inspiration to want to sing along with other metal gods.

    Love your
    Brother in metal
    Rob.

  5. metalodyssey Says:

    Thank you for sharing your photos to us all. Your photo’s really took me to this moment of tribute. This documentation stirred me up once again… I’m gonna miss Ronnie James Dio so much and I only knew him through his music. Ronnie James Dio’s gift of song will continue to bring me and countless others joy.

    Rest In Peace, Ronnie James Dio and to his wife Wendy, family, band mates and friends, I’m so truly sorry for your loss.

    Stone

  6. Really appreciate you covering this. I would have cherished being there.

    Well done.

    RIP Dio. I will never forget you.

  7. ANTONIO BRASIL Says:

    Tank you, for the music,shows and presence mágic scene of heavy metal Ronnie James Dio.

  8. osvaldo Says:

    …..you will live 4ever in our hearts….go in peace master!!!!!!!We…the brazilian fans…..

  9. I am in a couple of those pictures.
    I am the one in the devil mask.
    thank you for sharing these photos.
    long live ronnie james dio, and long live rock and roll!!!

  10. Isy Morgues Says:

    Hi Kevin,
    I’m a Brazilian fan since 1984.I couldn’t (as many of you did) resist listening to HIM.I’d like to thank you so much for sharing this moment.You must be a wonderful human being!I’ll never forget Him, specially because HIS music lives forever.
    Long live to rock’n roll!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. thank you for these pics i wish i couldve been there ronnie james was a legend in my mind and to so many others he was truly a great singer and artist i miss him so bad ive cried for days my husband thinks im crazy but when you know an artists songs word for word you tend to love this artist and he was the greatest i pray he never has any more suffering and is jamming in heaven rip in peace ronnie james dio i love you

  12. Dener Duvera Says:

    Thank …thank,Dio…Brazil

  13. Thanks for all!!!
    You’ll be always my idol, the voice of Heavy Metal.
    You’ll have been dead for me.
    Long Live Ronnie James Dio.

    São Paulo/Brazil.

  14. Thank’s Kevin for this. i Wish i could have been there to pay tribute to the little big man….

  15. Paul D Moreno Says:

    Thank you for all you gave. You will always be with us in our hearts. You were a true metal god. Long live ROCK N ROLL

  16. Marcos Botelho Jr Says:

    The black flag written “on and on it’s… Black Sabbath” wad made by a friend of mine with a little help of myself when Heaven and Hell came to Brazil last year. Great to know it was kept by them. Long Live Dio’s music!!!

  17. Chad Alexander Says:

    Kevin,
    Great shots of such an uplifting memorial. I was there up in the top. Some of the stories were great especially the one about the pyro guy
    at Hammersmith Odeon. Also stories about how Ronnie was as a
    human being were very touching and inspiring.

Leave a comment